h1

Intellisense problem after ReSharper uninstall

December 18, 2007

After uninstalling JetBrains’ ReSharper tool I discovered that Intellisense wasn’t working and after a little digging around found that it was turned off in the Visual Studio options.
The ReSharper tool does not reinstate those options when it uninstalls (I am assuming it turns those options off when installed to disable native VS Intellisense and provide its own).

I activated it again very simply with
Tools -> Options -> TextEditor -> C#
Under the “Statement Completion” option I ticked the two boxes: “Auto list members” and “Parameter Information”.

Back in business!
I’m about to install DevExpress’ CodeRush and I’m told it is very light and a single install supports all VS versions, including 2008.
It will be intersting to compare this to what I thought was quite a clunky and performance draining add on (ReSharper) that was sometimes very intrusive with auto-completion. I can see it was a very good product, it just wasn’t for me and didn’t suit my style, hence the uninstall.

7 comments

  1. Thanks for the tip. I spent several days without statement completion before finding your article. I’m really glad to have it back now!


  2. Hi Robert,
    Glad the article was of help – took me a while to dig up the answer as it is quite rare to have to play with Intellisense settings and was unknown to me.
    Happy coding!


  3. Thanks a lot for the post… it really helped me a lot 🙂


  4. thanks a lot! I appreciate it, I was hounded by the issue for multiple days!


  5. Thanks a Ton…. Gr8 work…


  6. I guess it makes no sense to me that ReSharper would disable that. But it certainly does. It’s very irritating to say the least if you haven’t used it before. Why in the world would they want to shut that off? Just weird.


  7. Thank you, that worked well and Intellisens is back in business… and I just realized how much less I know of the Visual Studio settings and evironment .. 🙂



Leave a Reply

