h1

Firefox crash fixed with safe mode

October 23, 2007

Today my firefox crashed – opening it up produced an error message:
firefox.exe – Application Eror: The instruction at “0x0064c30c” referenced memory at “0x00000000”. The memory could not be “read”.
Ouch!
This prevented use of the browser completely:

Firefox error

After searching for a while on google for firefox crashes (through IE), I came across the safe mode of the firefox browser.

I simply clicked on Start–>Run and typed

firefox -safe-mode

This enabled me to start the browser with all add-ons and themes turned off and yes, it loaded ok.
So it appeared that one of my add-ons was broken.

With a little trial and error where I permanently disabled them and then enabled one-by-one until the next opening of firefox crashed, I discovered that the culprit was the Load Time Analzyer 1.5.
Not sure what the exact issue is, but I don’t need the add on so I disabled it.

So this post is just a quick tip… if you need to fix firefox there is an easy safe mode option available.

Leave a Reply

